Minspiration Monday

Minspiration Monday: A delightful chicken recipe

On Mondays, I share something minimalism-related that inspires me (minimalism + inspiration, get it?). It could be anything: a simple recipe, a piece of furniture that woos the eye, an article that caught my attention, etc. Feel free to post your own minspiration in the comments!

I used to have a ton of cookbooks. Then I discovered Pinterest and food blogs.

I’m a big fan of one-pot meals, largely because I hate washing dishes–when husband and I were long-distance, pretty much every meal I made was some variation on a single bowl with a grain, a vegetable, and a protein–but also because I appreciate a dish that’s composed well enough that every ingredient in it complements the others. My husband, however, is not a big fan of stews and chilis and the like–the most common meals you would typically make all at once. So I’m always excited to find a one-pot recipe that isn’t a big soupy conglomeration of flavors, especially since I’m aiming for simpler ingredients and recipes these days.

5-Ingredient-Lemon-Chicken-2

Enter this 5-Ingredient Lemon Chicken with Asparagus recipe. I love it for so many reasons.

  • It only uses five ingredients, most of which you probably already have. Minimalist and cost-saving!
  • It uses one pot for everything and takes about 20 minutes from start to finish–so simple.
  • It’s beautiful to look at–also important in a curated, passionate life.
  • It yields gorgeously golden breaded chicken. I can’t tell you how much I’ve struggled to figure that out. Not a minimalist tenet, but a reason to love it all the same 😉

I’ve made it a few times and always had good results. It’s delicious over rice or with bread. My only caution: Make the sauce at the very last second, or else it has a tendency to break and harden.

Check it out for yourself here!

Leave a Reply

